My New Years Traditions (2012) #NYEathome #virtualNYE #creativecrip

My late maternal grandmother was a firm believer in “getting everything correct” to set the “right tone” for the New Year. For as long as I can remember she stuck to her routine and never wavered. December 26 wasn’t about hitting the sales for more things that weren’t needed and which would inevitably be forgotten about once the novelty wore off. The day after Christmas was the start of our New Year’s preparations.

Grandmom Durham always said that if you bring in your New Year in an atmosphere of dirt, clutter and unfinished business, then you had a particularly rocky road ahead for the next year. Some people will scoff at this notion; but I’ve always found it to be true. Despite the vexations of modern life and disability, I do somehow manage to tune in to what I need to do even in periods of incredible stress when I end the current year and start a new one sticking to the family traditions.

PART I: Get your house in order!

1. The living space has to be clean. Rugs vacuumed, floors mopped and everything as neat and tidy as possible. Divide tasks into a reasonable pace over several days. Get the big jobs out of the way first.

2. Laundry and Dishes done no later than early evening New Year’s Eve.

3. The Year has to be brought in with a lot of joy and merriment. My Grandfather died on Christmas Day while I was in High School. That New Year’s was an especially loud and raucous one.

4. New Year’s Day is spent in as relaxed a manner as possible – avoid disagreements and sadness if at all possible.

5. In addition to doing housework, it’s also bad luck if a woman is the first to cross your doorstep on New Year’s Day. We do have certain foods that are meant to be eaten for good luck, but I find them unappetising (disgusting, actually).

PART II: The power of intention!

Following is another great addition to my New Year’s Traditions.

My dear friend Michelle H. turned me onto The Manifesting & Law of Attraction Group founded and run by Hemal Radia on Facebook in 2008 (http://www.facebook.com/ManifestingLOA). The timing was quite fortuitous as it was nearing Christmas. Hemal did a post where he talked about *Going into the New Year with momentum*. In essence, you are compelled to do a lot of self-reflection – never a bad thing at all and especially if you are in denial about taking control of your life and your ability to create the future that you want for yourself. I can honestly say that just about everything I wrote for 2009 came to fruition even down to the time periods specified. Quite profound for one who struggles with positive thinking (being clinically depressed doesn’t help), meditation and visualisation.

Below is the exercise Hemal had us follow. I’ve made a couple of slight tweaks but this is the general format.

MANIFESTING & LAW OF ATTRACTION

GOING INTO THE NEW YEAR (2012) WITH MOMENTUM

1 – Write at least 3 to 5 things that you have Appreciated about this year

2 – Write at least 3 to 5 things (or more) that you are Anticipating/Excited about next year

3 – This time next year, what will you be delighted and proud with? What will have happened? (You can do this for the end of Jan too, what will you be proud of by then?)

The choice of when to do this exercise is entirely up to you, but last year and this I am following the same process:

– work on it a few days before the new year

– add and refine up until 6th Jan at the latest “Three Kings*

– review it now and again as a sort of reminder/meditation at the start of the year although in my experience that isnt very necessary – just getting it down with intent and being purposeful is enough

The idea is that you give yourself more than enough time to reflect and work with energy of the New Year as it comes in. I start working on this on the 28th of December, which gives me the opportunity to work with the departing energies of the current year in looking back for item 1. I then approach items 2 and 3 over the next few days leading up to New Year’s Eve. I find that list details come to me when I’m not actually in front of my computer. Don’t be surprised if you come up with an extensive list; but the one thing I would advise is be as specific as possible. If you want to achieve certain things by a certain date then by all means write it down. It worked for me. I wanted certain things to happen by the end of April 2009 and they all did (though the process was very painful).

I wish you all that you want for yourselves and much more.

Bright Blessings and Happy New Year!

5 thoughts on “My New Years Traditions (2012) #NYEathome #virtualNYE #creativecrip

  1. Pingback: The Creative Crip | #xmasathome, #nyeathome & #virtualnye 2012: @CreativeCrip suspended by Twitter, change of plan

  2. Pingback: My #VirtualNYE Campaign supporting #NYEathome : This is how I roll. | The Creative Crip

  3. I strongly resisted the tidying up advice when I first read it here, but it stuck in my mind and now I find myself cleaning up my workspace, and then that tends to expand into adjacent areas. Thanks for planting the seed. And a very happy New Year to you!

  4. Pingback: New Year’s Traditions in the USA | Holy Poached Eggs! New Year’s Traditions in the USA | A Southern Guy's Blog about Eating

Comments are closed.