thecreativecrip dotcom shafted by web host so back to WordPress dotcom

It is with regret that I am having to close down my self-hosted WordPress site thecreativecrip.com and revert to my old site which I continued to maintain at thecreativecrip.wordpress.com as a backup. Thank you to all my thecreativecrip.com readers for their support and I hope you will subscribe there. One of the perks of doing this is that it will be easy for others to share my work and re-blog through the WordPress.com platform itself.

I’ve had problems with my US-based web host, intrahost.com, for almost a year now after three years of outstanding service. It appears that the man behind the venture, Greg Kuiper, doesn’t care about his business now that he has a cushy job with popular hosting control panel techies cPanel. Paid invoices remain unprocessed yet I keep getting new ones charging me for “Parking Fees” and the same things that I’ve already paid for. At last check the total of nefarious charges was almost at $300. Domain renewals were not taken care of, which I and the few clients I had have to pay the consequences for. Help Desk tickets have gone unanswered for MONTHS. affiliate earnings remain locked in my account which I can no longer access as the intrahost.com website went offline a few weeks ago never to return. The Facebook Page has disappeared a while ago – or perhaps I was blocked from it for raising flags about web outtages that lasted more than a day with no action or notice by Intrahost. Greg is even a Facebook Friend (Ha!) – but ignores me at every turn now. No more Mister Nice Guy.

On top of all that, neither myself nor my clients are able to get the transfer codes we need to move our active domains elsewhere. My Iconic Imagery business identities and those of The Creative Crip are fortunately listed as being owned by me but I have no control over them at all now. I’m not sure what’s going on because although one domain expired, I’m not able to buy it through another registrar – as it seems to be locked with me still listed as the owner. My web hosting package obviously remains active but in my opinion it would be unwise to carry on making use of it with the owner of the servers having vanished into thin air (in a manner of speaking).

I trusted Greg Kuiper with my business and those of friends and professional connections. For just over 3 years the service was outstanding. I never saw this problem coming – and even transferred domains to Intrahost.com from a popular service I had used for years. Make no mistake, this can happen to anyone at any time and with any web host. There are a lot of one-man bands fronting as larger operations. This most definitely is the case with Intrahost.com. There are also many unscrupulous larger operations. The best anyone can do is research and think critically.

I contacted the Better Business Bureau who are effectively useless. I note that people are starting to complain to them about Intrahost.com but not getting anywhere through the BBB. Now I have to raise the issue with ICANN – and continue to let people know what happened as I try to rebuild.

2 thoughts on “thecreativecrip dotcom shafted by web host so back to WordPress dotcom

Comments are closed.