I am George Zimmerman: What Bugs Taught Me About Race Relations in America

an ezv truth

By: Eris Zion Venia Dyson

Image
As I celebrated my 29th birthday with family and friends the verdict for the Zimmerman case was announced. The evening that began as a celebration of life, quickly turned into an introspective night of sadness, anger, frustration, and a whole heap of questions. My cousin, who is the father of a 3 year old son said “it’s safer for my son to be gay than to be black in this country” lamenting on the recent Supreme Court decisions. My mother reflected on the lack of congruency for what is a convictable crime. She spoke about the Michael Vick case where he served 21 months of jail time for hosting an illegal dog fighting ring. We talked about Jordan Davis, the teen shot in cold blood because his music was ‘too loud’, and the police officers in Cleveland, Ohio that fired 137 shots at an unarmed…

View original post 836 more words

